TCSC Awards and Winners
TCSC Award for Excellence (Early Career Researcher)

The IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) is a technical committee within IEEE Computer Society, aimed at fostering research and education in scalable computing with applications. The committee solicits nominations of Early Career Researcher (ECR) Award. The award includes an award plaque that will be presented at the annual IEEE HPCC conference, along with a public citation for the award on the IEEE TCSC website.

The IEEE TCSC (Technical Committee on Scalable Computing) Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing (Early Career Researchers) recognizes up to 5 individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field of scalable computing. Typically the candidates are within 5 years of receiving their PhD degree as of January 01 of the year of the award.


A candidate may be nominated by members of the community. An individual may nominate at most one candidate for this award. Nomination must be submitted via email to the selection committee chair. A nomination application (as a single PDF file) should contain the following details:

  • Name/email of person making the nomination (self-nominations are not eligible).
  • Name/email of candidate for whom the award is recommended.
  • A statement by the nominator (maximum of 500 words) as to why the nominee is highly deserving of the award both on excellence and in relation to IEEE TCSC.
  • CV of the nominee.
  • Up three support letters from persons other than the nominator – these should be collected by the nominator and included in the nomination. Members of selection committee cannot be nominators or referees.

Important Dates:
  • Nomination Deadline: October 31, 2023
  • Results Notification: November 15, 2023
Award Selection Committee:
Award & Presentation Note:

Awardees will be presented a plaque and will be recognized by IEEE TCSC in its website, newsletter and archives. The awards for 2023 will be presented at a selected IEEE TCSC sponsored conference.


  • 2023
  Jianbing Ni, Queen's University, Canada
  Maciej Besta, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  Spyros Mastorakis, University of Notre Dame, USA
  Arijit Roy, Indian Institute of Technology Patna, India
  Minxian Xu, SIAT, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  Han Qiu, Tsinghua University, China

  • 2022
  Gagangeet Singh Aujla, Durham University, UK
  Rong Gu, Nanjing University, China
  Muneeb Ul Hassan, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  Yaliang Zhao, Henan University, China
  Jiangtian Nie, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

  • 2021
  Hoang Dinh, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
  Kuljeet Kaur, École de Technologie Supérieure, Canada
  Xiaokang Wang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada
  Yanmin Gong, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  Zehui Xiong, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore

  • 2020
  Sahil Garg, École de technologie Superieure (ÉTS), Canada
  Huazhong Liu, Hainan University, China
  Xiulong Liu, Tianjin University, China
  Zhenyu Wen, Newcastle University, UK
  Haoyi Xiong, Baidu Research, China
  Hailong Yang, Beihang University, China
  Xiaokang Zhou, Shiga University, Japan

  • 2019
  Chubo Liu, Hunan University, China
  Linghe Kong, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  Tianzheng Wang, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  Ju Ren, Central South University, China
  He Li, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
  Xianjun Deng, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada

  • 2018
  Qian Wang, Wuhan University, China
  Deepak Puthal, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
  Guoqi Xie, Hunan University, China
  Qingchen Zhang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada
  Wei Li, The University of Sydney, Australia
  Chao Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

  • 2017
  Kaoru Ota, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
  Quan Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  Lena Mashayekhy, University of Delaware, USA
  Xiaohui Liang, University of Massachusetts Boston, USA
  Chunsheng Zhu, The University of British Columbia, Canada

  • 2016
  Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Fordham University, USA
  Leonardo Bautista Gomez, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  Mianxiong Dong, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
  Xingang Liu, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
  Nikos Tziritas, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

  • 2015
  Ilkay Altintas, San Diego Supercomputer Center, UC San Diego, USA
  Aydın Buluç, Computational Research Division - Berkeley Lab (LBNL), USA
  Kurt B. Ferreira, Sandia National Laboratories, USA

  • 2014
  Abhinav Bhatele, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  Jed Brown, Argonne National Laboratory & University of Colorado Boulder, USA
  Yong Chen, Texas Tech University, USA
  Ioan Raicu, Illinois Institute of Technology & Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  Ivan Rodero, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA

  • 2013
  Yuriy Brun, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA
  Jeff R. Hammond, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL, USA
  Torsten Höfler, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland

Copyright 2022 © TCSC. All Rights Reserved.